Our Latest Reviews

One Night Stay Oct 2013
Very Nice stay breakfast good will stay again.

Mr. John Nixon - 29th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Home From Home
Warm welcome, very clean, excellent room size,Shower with hot water,then to top it all of,a super breakfast in the morning.

Mr. Peter Cooke - 14th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Another Good Stay
Pat and I have enjoyed another 2 day stay.Ted and Tonja made us very welcome again. Unfortunately, my Sister, Sue damaged her car, and Ted was a great help in overcoming the situation.

Mr. John Lindsay - 6th Oct, 2013
Verified Review

Great Place To Stay
We stayed one night at the Ivydene wish it could have been more. We were able to check in early which was great as we were doing a long walk. We stayed in room 2 which was very large, Spotlessly clean and had we been staying longer the use of a fridge and microwave in the room would have been very useful. The bathroom was also a good size. Breakfast was very good and it was nice to be asked what time we would like it served as we checked in. The location is great just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants but in a nice quiet area. We would certainly stay again. Thank you for a great stay. Hope to visit again.

Mrs. Jennifer Watson - 30th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Accomodation
We enjoyed our stay at the Ivydene very much. The room was so cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Enjoyed having some yougurt, which is a rarity in some of the places we have stayted. Enjoyed our chat after breakfast. Very accomodating. Thank you keeping our luggage until we were ready to catch the train. Thank you for everything.

Mr. Alan Rotherham - 6th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Mrs
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Ivydene Guest House. Premises very ckean and accmodating. Will definately stafy again and will reccomend to all friends.

Judith Symonds - 19th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Stay At Ivydene
Couldn't fault anything would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family

Mr. Carl Atherton - 11th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Weekend In Southport
We stayed for one night at this guesthouse. We were greeted by the owner who seemed friendly and approachable. We were shown to our rooms - these looked very comfortable and fairly clean. The rooms were very spacious and adequately contained. The decor was a little tired inplaces but this did not impinge on our stay. We had a peaceful nights sleep and breakfast was of a good standard.

Mrs. Samantha West - 5th Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Very pleasant stay. Would definitely return if we visited Southport again. Very friendly and helpful proprietor.

Mrs. Val Barratt - 29th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
lovely, clean hotel within a nice quiet area.1st class breakfast. The owner and staff are very pleasant and make you feel very comfortable. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable with with extras you wouldn't normally get eg. fridge, microwave and also a shampoo,conditioner,shower gel dispenser.

Mr. Stephen Mccabe - 22nd Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Southport Half Marathon Break
Room was clean and just right for a family of 4. Very obliging host providing an early breakfast for my husband who was running early at the Southport Half Marathon and also a late check out, so that he could shower and change, at no extra cost. Would use hotel again and recommend to others.

Mrs. Julie Bryan-smith - 8th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
The Ivydene was exactly what we needed. My sister and I only required a one night stay but the room, and the breakfast were fantastic. The room was almost like an apartment with everything we could have needed, in fact, my sister wanted to move in. Highly recommended.

Ms. Lisa Jackson - 5th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Recent Stay
My wife and I stayed at Ivydene on the night of Saturday 25.05.2013. Ted and Tonja were both very friendly and very helpful, the accommodation was very clean and the breakfast was lovely - Thanks

Mr. Andrew Mccamley - 27th May, 2013
Verified Review

Guest House
Very nice place to stay spotlessly clean if you are staying in Southport we recommend the IVYDENE GUEST HOUSE,,,

Mr. Neil Sutton - 20th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Our Stay
Pleasant stay room lovely and warm. Bed very comfortable. Would stay again

Mr. Robert White - 11th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Thanks
We stayed at the Ivydene Guest House for one night & found both the accommodation & the facilities to be of good standard.
Breakfast was lovely & the manager could not have been more friendly & helpful

Mr. Kelvin Eatherington - 11th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Staying At The Ivydene
Thank you for our pleasant stay. Your breakfast is fab especially the sausage, you made us feel so welcome we would love to stay again. Thank you best wishes Rita, Rob and Julie.xxx

Mrs. Rita Davey - 9th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Ivydene
Very reasonably priced and central, quiet location. Recommended.

Dr. David Parker - 23rd Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent!
We spent 6 very comfortable nights at the Ivydene with good service and an excellent breakfast. Only problem was a possible blocked soap dispenser by the basin in the bathroom. So we used the soap in the shower! The good spell of weather helped, of course. 5 out of 5 - stars below don't show up.

Mr. Peter Powell - 12th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Peter
Many thanks for the kind words and letting me about the soap dispenser - now fixed
look forward to seeing you again

Family Visit
not my first visit to this guest house and once again we were made to feel very welcome.
would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and would like to thank ted and his wife for their warm and friendly hospitality

Alan Curtis - 7th Jun, 2012
Verified Review

Ivydene Guest House
If you like somewhere with character, that is clean, welcoming & roomy you will love the Ivydene. My Mum & I loved the location which was close to Southport High St. We would definately stay again. Thank You Ted & Tanja.

Mrs. Heather Holt - 24th May, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
excellent idea see your room before you book,lovely homely atmosphere .clean large rooms food excellent,quiet area 5mins from town can:t fault anything not even price,would recomend to all thanks Ted !

Mrs. Rose Hindley - 9th May, 2012
Verified Review

Ideal Stay
This was our third time at the Ivydene. Once again we had a very pleasant stay. Ivydene is an ideal guest house being so close to Lord Street.Jim is an ideal host.

Mr. John Lindsay - 21st Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
HI John & Pat
Thanks for the get well card and to let you know that Tonja is doing fine - first few days we re difficult, see consultant tomorrow.
Have a great day and regards,
Ted

Quiet Friendly Guest House
We had a lovely stay at the Ivydene Guest House. It is set in a quiet residential area of Southport but within walking distance of the main shopping centre etc. The room was clean and tidy with lots of space to move around. Breakfast was also very nice set us up for a days shopping we would definitely consider staying at the Ivydene again.

Mrs. Julie Gallagher - 12th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

Pleasant Stay For Wedding
We stayed at Ivydene as we were attending a wedding in Southport. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. We arrived early and we were shown to our room which was ready. Car parking was a bonus. Breakfast good. Thanks for your hospitality. Cath

Catherine Gildart - 31st Oct, 2011
Verified Review

I'm Not Sure Rating Was Correct
I changed the score to 4 out of 5 and pressed enter to change the number of stars highlighted. I thought I had to click on each one to light it and so had clicked on the first one and it wouldn't let me change it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't publish my review as 1 out of 5, I intended it to be 4 out of 5.

Catherine Gildart - 31st Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Returning Guests
This was the fourth time we have stayed at Ivydene and on each occasion we have enjoyed a very pleasant stay, excellent accommodation, excellent food and excellent hosts.

Mr. David Francis - 9th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely!
just stayed for one night as we attended a family wedding close by, the room was lovely, very clean and had a fridge freezer and microwave! only thing i would say is the rooms where very warm as the radiator was on quite a lot! But would deffinatly stay again!!

Miss. Samantha Russell - 28th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Quiet And Comfortable
LIKED the large room with a settee and modern television.
Too often we've stayed in other guest houses where we've had to sit on the bed and watch a small tv with bad reception!
Modern en-suite shower room.
Our breakfast was freshly cooked and nicely presented.

Mr. Christopher Lane - 26th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely And Relaxing
My civil partner and I stayed at the Ivydene for 1 night as a quick getaway from Liverpool. We were made very welcome, the bedroom was immaculate, quite old fashioned but cosy. A nice touch was the water and biscuits also included with the tea, coffee etc, plus there was a fridge and microwave in our room! Breakfast was perfect, we were really impressed at the presentation of the dining tables. We will definitely stay again.

Mr. Steven Williams - 12th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Our Stay
An ideal situated guest house,A short walk from the railway station,shops and pier.Has a friendly atmosphere,With a Fridge/Freezer and the Microwave in our room,We found the room clean and tidy,One of best Guest houses I've stayed in.

Mr. Malcolm Hudson - 9th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Very Pleasent Stay
Our third time at Ivydene and it was as relaxing as ever.The hosts are very friendly and the guest house couldn't be better positoned. Close to all the ameneties yet nice and quiet.

Mr. Matt Gemmell - 23rd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

One Night Stay
Lots of space in our double room. Fridge, microwave, TV, digital alarm clock, hairdryer, TV & coffee facilities.
Immaculate.
Roomy bathroom.
Very good cooked breakfast.
Very polite, helpful and friendly owners.
Can highly recommend.

Ms. Marilyn Parker - 15th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Good Place To Stay
Was made feel very welcome upon arrival, very clean, very quiet, would return and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Keith Glass - 1st Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Ivydene Guest House
a lovely guest house clean and respectable with a pleasent warm welcome.Room was clean and meet all requirements breakfast very enjoyable will most defernatly stay again and would reccomend it to anyone wishing to stay there thankyou for a enjoyable weekend.

Mrs. Joanne Mclellan - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

One Night
our short stay was delightfull, a parking space was available the room was tidy ,bigger than expected ,with plus's a fridge and microwave so a longer stay would be very confortable.
close to all amenities .morning breakfast was excellent full english,plus cereals fruit and yogurt.have already reconmemded to friends for the future.thanks

Mr Keith Smith - 25th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Suited Our Purpose
We booked to stay at Ivydene as it was only a short walk to a wedding reception. The room was clean and tidy and obviously well looked after. We were made to feel welcome. Breakfast was nice although we didn't have any cooked breakfast. My only criticism was that the bed I slept in, although comfortable, hit the wall every time I rolled over and this disturbed my sleep a little.
I would definitely use Ivydene again

Miss. Kathryn Dawson - 24th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
Booked for one night stay in the Ivydene based on the feed back from previous clients and we were not dissapointed. The room was lovely (as per the photo on site) and we had a great breakfast. The hosts are a very pleasant and friendly couple and we will definatly stay here again if we are in Southport and recommend it to anyone else who wants a nice guest house fairly centrally located on a quiet road.

Mr. William Moore - 14th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Southport Dance Showcase
enjoyable stay room clean and comfortable,warm welcome lovely breakfast defently go back again.

Mrs. Debra Cheshire - 27th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Very Nice Stay
a good value for money stay with friendly owners, clean and comfortable, the breakfast was particularly good and they were using good ingredients, certainly not the cheap stuff you get at some budget hotels. oh and its in a good location too, quite near to the town.

Mr. Mark Foster - 19th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Our Stay
Our stay was was very nice, A good clean friendly establisment . Nice spacious double room. Very quiet area but within a 5 minute walk of the town. Would certainly stay there again if ever returning to Southport.
Brian Hardy.

Mr. Brian Hardy - 13th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Brian - very pleased to have you stay with us and many thanks for your kind words
Take care
Ted & Tonja

Short Break To Liverpool
We stayed for two night at the Ivydene Guest House and had an enjoyable stay in Room 2. It was a large room which looked like the photographs on the website (other places we have stayed did not). The owners were pleasant and welcoming, really making you feel as if you were a family friend rather than just a customer. The location was great despite our initial mistake of a very long walk to the train station in Southport! Breakfast was good and the room was clean, tidy and comfortable, with everything you need (coffee, biscuits, kettle, en-suite).

We would be happy to recommend this accommodation to other travelers and wish the Guest House future success.

Mrs. KATRINA BROWN - 3rd Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Katrina
Many thanks for your kind review - I would have thought that the walk to the station was very easy for young energetic people like yourself. Previous preview from Grahm Sinyard says its a short walk - its actually 7 minutes having walked it many times. Perhaps whats long for some is short others. Anyway I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the "reasonable" walk to the station will not prevent you from visiting again. Oh.. you missed a good breakfast.. perhaps next time.
All the best
Ted & Tonja

Review
really enjoyed my stay, nice breakfast and lovely shower, only downfall the bed was slightly hard but im used to a orthopedic matress. hope to visit again in the future

Mr. DOMINIC RICHARDSON - 2nd Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
Hi Dominic
many thanks for your kind remarks - the mattresses are commercial hence the firmness - hope to see you again
regards
Ted & Tonja

Comfy Welcoming Guesthouse
Ivydene guest house is one of the most comfiest, cleanest guesthouse we have stayed in. We were welcomed at the door by the owner with a welcoming smile which made us feel at home. room was spotless and the bed so comfortable, we slept extremely well. Although we skipped breakfast in the morning, we were shown out upon leaving. I would highly recommend this guest house which is situated a very short walk from the station/town/ all amenities in southport.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay

Mr. Graham Sinyard - 30th May, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Accommodation
hi Graham - many thanks for your kind review - we take pride in what we do and try to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible.- Once again many thanks and hope to see you again.

Ted & Tonja
© 2006 Ivydene Guest House     |     Tel: +44 (0)1704 544 760     |       T & Cs